The Madison Review is an independent literary arts journal published through the University of Wisconsin–Madison Creative Writing Department. Published semiannually, each issue of The Madison Review contains previously unpublished fiction, poetry, and art as well as interviews with well-known writers. The Madison Review is also committed to bringing literary arts to the community by hosting readings, discussions and other events. Contributors to The Madison Review have included I.B. Singer, Stephen Dunn, Lisel Mueller, May Sarton, Charles Baxter, Roberto Fernandez, and C.K. Williams. The Madison Review has also had the privilege of interviewing such literary figures as Joe Meno, Billy Collins, Maurice Manning, Bret Easton Ellis, Chuck Palahniuk, David Sedaris, Lorrie Moore, Dean Young, Ira Glass, Nathan Englander, Heather Swan, and Amy Quan Barry.

Founded in the early 1970s by students from the university’s creative writing program, The Madison Review remains a student-run journal to this day. The staff—including editors—is composed entirely of undergraduates from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Since the staff changes frequently, each issue attempts to showcase the distinct aesthetics of that year’s reviewing panel. Professor Ron Kuka has acted as the faculty advisor for The Madison Review since 1990.